Administrator of Norfolk Island

The Administrator of Norfolk Island is appointed by the Governor-General of Australia, and administers the island as a Territory under the authority of the Commonwealth of Australia.

The Administrator represents the Hon. Nola Marino MP, Assistant Minister for Regional Development and Territories, on Norfolk Island.

The Administrator is leading community engagement on the ongoing Norfolk Island Governance changes.

Mr Eric Hutchinson commenced his two-year term as Administrator of Norfolk Island on 1 April 2017.

On 23 February 2019, it was announced that the Governor-General had agreed to reappoint Eric Hutchinson as Norfolk Island Administrator for an additional term of two years.

Government House

Photo: Mark Mohell—Kingston and Arthurs Vale Historic Area, Norfolk Island (part of the World Heritage Listed Australian Convict Sites)Norfolk Island's historic Government House—built in 1829 and handsomely restored—is generally not open to the public. However, on a number of occasions each year, its formal rooms are open for the afternoon—1.00 pm to 3.30 pm—for public inspection.

This is to allow opportunities for people to visit and gain an appreciation of Government House's place in the rich history of Norfolk Island as well as to raise funds for Norfolk Island's volunteer charity and service organisations.

The Government House Open Day program is subject to the possibility that scheduled Open Days may be cancelled or changed at short notice because of operational requirements or bad weather such as when it is wet or windy.


To contact the Office of the Administrator email or phone +6723 22152 (Norfolk Island).


Last Updated: 12 June, 2019