We are currently redeveloping this website. Check out our Beta website and be sure to leave some feedback!

2017_11—Change to the 2018 Public Holiday Schedule

4 October 2017

Change to the 2018 Public Holiday Schedule
PDF: 445 KB

Change to the 2018 Public Holiday Schedule

The Jervis Bay Territory observes the same calendar as the ACT. As a result of an alteration to the ACT’s public holiday schedule, Australia’s first Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander focussed public holiday will be observed in the JBT next year.

Reconciliation Day will be held each year on the first Monday on or after the 1967 Referendum anniversary date—the start of National Reconciliation Week. Reconciliation Day in May will replace the current Family and Community Day with effect from 2018.

The updated ACT Public Holiday Schedule is as follows:

Date to be observedPublic Holiday
Monday 1 January 2018 New Year’s Day
Friday 26 January 2018 Australia Day
Monday 12 March 2018 Canberra Day
Friday 30 March 2018 Good Friday
Saturday 31 March 2018 Easter Saturday
Sunday 1 April 2018 Easter Sunday
Monday 2 April 2018 Easter Monday
Wednesday 25 April 2018 ANZAC Day
Monday 28 May 2018 Reconciliation Day
Monday 11 June 2018 Queen’s Birthday
Monday 1 October 2018 Labour Day
Tuesday 25 December 2018 Christmas Day
Wednesday 26 December 2018 Boxing Day

Note: This update contains information as correct at 26 September 2017

Chris Baseler
Operations Manager
Jervis Bay Territory Administration
Department of Infrastructure & Regional Development