We are currently redeveloping this website. Check out our Beta website and be sure to leave some feedback!

2021 public holidays for Christmas Island

Number: A40/2020

Date: 1 September 2020

The following public and bank holidays will be observed on Christmas Island during 2021:

New Year's Day Friday, 1 January
Australia Day Tuesday, 26 January
Chinese New Year Day 1 Friday, 12 February
Chinese New Year Day 2 Monday, 15 February
(in lieu of Saturday, 13 February)
Labour Day Monday, 22 March
Good Friday Friday, 2 April
Anzac Day Monday, 26 April
(in lieu of Sunday, 25 April)
Hari Raya Puasa* Thursday, 13 May
Hari Raya Haji* Tuesday, 20 July
Territory Day Monday, 4 October
Christmas Day Monday, 27 December
(in lieu of Saturday, 25 December)
Boxing Day Tuesday, 28 December
(in lieu of Sunday, 26 December)
  • Christmas Island public holiday 2021 proclamation PDF: 645 KB

*Dates subject to change: the Islamic calendar is based on lunar observation. Although it is possible to estimate with a reasonable degree of accuracy the lunar calendar in advance, the dates will be subject to the sighting of the new moon. The above dates may vary by one or two days.

Natasha Griggs
Administrator of Christmas Island and the Cocos (Keeling) Islands