Regional Recovery Partnerships

The Australian Government has committed $100 million over two years to fund Regional Recovery Partnerships. The Partnerships will coordinate investments with other levels of government to support recovery and growth in 10 investment regions across Australia.

The Partnerships seek to back-in existing regional plans by developing a package of targeted initiatives with contributions from all levels of government to deliver jobs, economic recovery and economic diversification.

This investment reflects our deep commitment to working with all levels of government to rapidly deliver targeted, short-term initiatives to deliver jobs, economic recovery and economic diversification.

The proposed regions offer a compelling contribution to national resilience and recovery as they have experienced the brunt of COVID-19 on employment level and regional economies, and present emerging opportunities to diversify the region’s economy to drive long term national growth and resilience.

The 10 investment regions are:

  • (NSW) The Snowy Mountains, Hunter and Newcastle and Parkes Regions
  • (QLD) Cairns and Tropical North Queensland, Gladstone and Mackay-Isaac-Whitsunday Regions
  • (TAS) all of Tasmania
  • (VIC) Gippsland Region
  • (SA) Kangaroo Island
  • (WA) South West Region

The first year of funding is drawn from the COVID-19 Relief and Recovery Fund.