National Awards for Local Government

2020 National Awards for Local Government

Entries have now closed.

Show us your Excellence

Local Governments are encouraged to enter as many eligible project submissions as they wish, noting that projects must meet the requirements of the category fact sheets and submission guidelines.

NALG entries can be projects of any size, that are delivering positive community outcomes, or are expected to, once the project is complete.

About the National Awards for Local Government

The National Awards for Local Government (NALG) are an annual celebration of the best of Australian local government achievements. The Awards highlight innovative and resourceful solutions implemented by local governments to make a difference to their local communities.

Administered by the Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Cities and Regional Development with the support of key sponsors, the NALG promotes the significant role of the local government sector in delivering targeted quality services to Australians in urban and regional communities. Through the promotion of excellence in service delivery, the Awards showcase community solutions that directly respond to community need, overcome barriers and feature new, advanced and creative thinking. There are ten Award categories that cover a range of projects that local government is delivering for their communities. These categories reflect the kind of community outcomes that are creating stronger, more resilient and more cohesive communities where people are safe and living their best lives.

A key focus of the 2020 NALG is to encourage a greater number of local governments, small or large, to tell us about projects they are delivering which contribute to developing sustainable communities for the future.

In an economic climate where all levels of government are required to optimise value for money, the Commonwealth will play a key role in ensuring that the 2020 winning projects are profiled nationally to encourage greater collaboration and knowledge sharing between all levels of government.

Entry Eligibility

ELIGIBLE ENTITIES:  All elected local government organisations (councils, shires and other recognised organisations that provide direct services to Australian communities) are eligible to enter. If developed with other organisations, the local government entity must be the lead applicant.

INELIGIBLE ENTITIES: Local governments that are under administration for any reason other than amalgamation are ineligible to apply.

PRIMARY ENTITY: Each entry must have one local government organisation as the lead entity responsible for the entry. This includes collaborations with other councils or organisations. Acknowledgment and reference to the collaborative entities can be made in the entry submission

FUNDING PARTNERS: Councils that receive funding from other bodies (including Commonwealth bodies) may enter, but one local government entity must be the leading entity for the entry.

Award category and fact sheets

The Minister Coulton Award – Progressive Community Leadership DOCX: 310 KB

Arts Animates – creating vibrant and cohesive communities through the Arts DOCX: 309 KB

Boosting Productivity through Infrastructure DOCX: 310 KB

Contributing to Regional Growth DOCX: 310 KB

Disability Access and Inclusion DOCX: 309 KB

Excellence in Road Safety DOCX: 310 KB

Multicultural Australia – Cohesive Communities DOCX: 310 KB

Addressing Violence Against Women and their Children DOCX: 312 KB

Promoting Indigenous Recognition DOCX: 310 KB

The Susan Grace Benny Award DOCX: 310 KB

Further Information

If you require any additional information, please email the Awards Team at or contact the Awards Secretariat on 02 6274 6922


Last Updated: 11 February, 2020